Being convicted of a DUI may not seem remotely related to child endangerment, but under California law, the two have a lot in common. How are being convicted of a DUI and child endangerment related? If a driver is found guilty of a DUI and has a child under the age of 14 with them in the car, the driver may be faced with an additional penalty of child endangerment under California law. Depending on the situation at hand, an additional 48 hours to 90 days of imprisonment can be added to the driver’s DUI sentence.

Prosecutors can also charge the driver with a DUI under Penal Code 273a, which is California’s child endangerment law. Penal Code 273a makes it is unlawful to place children in potentially dangerous situations, which include being in a car or motorized vehicle with a driver under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If the driver is found guilty of violating Penal Code 273a, the driver can be jailed for up to six years in prison.

Prosecutors can also charge the driver with a DUI under Penal Code 273a, which is California’s child endangerment law. Penal Code 273a makes it is unlawful to place children in potentially dangerous situations, which include being in a car or motorized vehicle with a driver under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If the driver is found guilty of violating Penal Code 273a, the driver can be jailed for up to six years in prison.

If convicted of both, a DUI and child endangerment, the best way to avoid the potentially harsh penalties is to thoroughly and vigorously address the DUI charges first. Of course, if the driver is not found guilty of the underlying DUI in the first place, then he/she will not be convicted of child endangerment.

If you would like to speak with a DUI Attorney in San Bernardino contact the Law Offices of Marc Grossman for a FREE Initial Consultation.

Punam Patel Grewal, Esq.